Personal stuff, and rethinking a schedule

My girls were in town this weekend. About 2 years ago, their mother moved north of Houston, which is a solid 4 hour drive from here (I live in a huge state). I get to see them one weekend most months. It hard, as they are the only 2 blood relatives I have, and the time I have with them is precious. When they are here, I spend any time I’m not sleeping or doing those things necessary to keep the house running making sure that they are included in whatever is going on. I really try to make sure that they see this as their home, too. It isn’t all trips to Six Flags, though we do try to plan the fun things for when they are here. They also help with chores and other mundane family things. They don’t always appreciate that, but it seems like the right thing to do. I’m trying to make sure that I never stop being their father in an attempt to be more fun than their mom. I’ve seen it happen, and I really don’t want to be that guy.

Why am I posting this? Well, first, it has been a while since I’ve gotten into my personal life here, and I think that’s ok. I do want to connect with people, but I don’t want this to become about what I had for lunch (Unless I take on some interesting dinning challenge!)

What I realized this weekend is that it will be nearly impossible to write and publish a blog post for Monday after my girls have been here. I am still to self conscious about my writing to not go over it a few times first, and those few times need to be spaced many hours apart. So, I am totally rethinking my schedule after less than a month.

From now on, I will make an effort to post something on Tuesday about my personal faith, my chosen religion (Unitarian Universalism), or religious life in general.

On Friday, I will post something based more in politics, science, or general culture.

This is, in effect, switching the 2 categories. My blog will always have at least 2 sides, but I am trying to organize and distinguish, if not completely separate, the major division that currently exists. I know I have a few readers who prefer one topic, and now they know when to look to see if I’m writing about it this week.

April had been my busiest month to date in terms of page views. May exactly doubled that number. Thanks so much to everyone who is following my progress as a writer. I welcome comments, and I hope to get more feedback in the future.

2 Responses

  1. I am also considering expanding my efforts by the end of the year: I am still seriously looking into the UU Social Media platform, and I am toying with the idea of a YouTube channel.

    Again, I always welcome comments, and thanks again for reading.

  2. […] family is myself, my partner, her three kids (one of whom is Autistic), my disabled mother, and my own 2 kids who are here until school starts. That’s a family of 8, though it sometimes feels like […]

Speak your piece

