The Over-Dependant Web

I’ve been moving this last week, as I said in my last post, and I took the week off from writing, mostly.

I also spent the week trying to prepare a house for my family, get back in touch with old friends, and renew the current relationships in response to my new situation. This has been a lot of stress.

My family is myself, my partner, her three kids (one of whom is Autistic), my disabled mother, and my own 2 kids who are here until school starts. That’s a family of 8, though it sometimes feels like 12.

Additionally, I am being asked to take on more responsibilities at my church, trying to find ways to bring in some income, and being there for a few friends who are in odd situations where I am really the best person to lean on.

Some days, it feels like my life comes with most of the hassles (though some, like the blog, are self imposed) and almost none of the benefits of being an actual minister. I often feel like I am providing structural support for a lot of people in so many ways that it should be overwhelming. It likely would be, if it weren’t for the fact that most of these people are Unitarian Universalists. Most of my close friends and family understand and try to live the Principles of the UUA and the 5 Smooth Stones (at least on an instinctual level). That means that they understand the need for compassion and equity in our relationships. They understand that positive relationships are built on consent, respect, and the desire to create a loving community. They each work to give back to me what I need from them in the same way that I work to encourage them in their lives.

We all have those times when life overwhelms us. The responsibilities that we have, whether they are thrust upon us or self imposed, can pile up and demand all that we have to give, and maybe more. The best tactic I have found to make it through those times, as will surprise no one who has been reading along, is to nurture healthy relationships. I firmly believe that joy shared is joy multiplied, while sorrow shared is sorrow divided.

Speak your piece

